2-6 December 2018
University of Melbourne
Australia/Melbourne timezone
Detailed information will be available in December 2017

Plenary Speaker

Zihe Rao - Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. The atomic resolution structure of HSV Capsids.

Tsinghua University. Member of  Presidium of  Chinese Academy of Sciences, Professor of Tsinghua University / Nankai University,  Former President of Nankai University, Former Director-General of Institute of Biophysics, CAS. Zihe Rao is a Biophysicist and Structural Biologist, mainly engaged in the study of the three-dimensional structures of proteins and viruses related to human infection or those with important physiological functions, as well as in the development of innovative drug treatment. To date, Prof Rao has published 332 peer-reviewed papers in international scientific journals with over 10,000 citations. Prof. Rao got his Ph.D. from St. Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research and Department of Biochemistry,University of Melbourne, Australia in 1989. From 2003, Prof. Rao was elected as a Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, a Fellow of Hertford College, Univeristy of Oxford, a Member of the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences, Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, Honorary Doctor of University of Glasgow and Hong Kong Baptist University. From 2014-2017, Prof. Rao served as the President of International Union for Pure and Applied Biophysics (IUPAB). From 2006-2017, he served as the Chairman of Biophysics Society of China. 

Invited Speakers
Quan Hao – University of Hong Kong. Structural studies of new post-translational modification erasers/readers.

Professor Quan Hao joined the HKU Faculty of Medicine as Professor in Physiology and Structural Biology in July 2008. He obtained a BSc degree in Physics from the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) and PhD in Crystallography from the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He conducted his postdoctoral research at the University of York and the University of Liverpool. He joined De Montfort University (UK) as Lecturer in Biophysics in 1994. Prior to joining HKU, he served as the Director of Macromolecular Facility of Cornell High Energy Synchrotron Source (MacCHESS) and Adjunct Associate Professor of Applied Engineering Physics at Cornell University, USA. His research interests include structural and functional studies of sirtuin family proteins and crystallographic methods.

Pingbo Huang - Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Mechanosensitive channels: from cell swelling to hearing.

Huang received his Ph.D. in Physiology from the University of Cincinnati and did postdoctoral studies at the UNC-Chapel Hill, after graduating from Peking University. He joined the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in 2003, at which he is now an Associate Professor in the Division of Life Science and Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering.  His laboratory combines molecular biology, biophysical, and engineering approaches to study mechanotransdution in hair cells in the inner ear, chemical and mechanical regulation of ion channels, and molecular mechanobiology.  He has published in influential journals such as Nature Cell Biology, eLife, PNAS, and JBC. He is currently serving as the Vice President of the Biophysical Society of Hong Kong.

N.R. Jagannathan – All India Institue of Medical Sciences (MRI)Study of Cancer Metabolism by MRI and in-vivo MR Spectroscopy.

Professor & Head of the Department of NMR & MRI Facility at All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. Research interests are in clinical and pre-clinical cancer using MRI and MRS. Author or co-author of over 300 publications and 5 edited volumes. He is a Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc, Bangalore); Fellow of National Science Academy (FNASc, Allahabad); Fellow of National Academy of Medical Sciences India (FAMS), Fellow of Indian National Science Academy (FNA, Delhi) and Fellow of International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM, USA). He is the Associate Editor of Biophysical Reviews (Springer) and is a member of Editorial Boards of: (i) NMR Biomedicine (John Wiley); (ii)  MAGMA (Springer); (iii) Magnetic Resonance Imaging (Elsevier); (iv)  Magnetic Resonance Insights (Libertas Academica); and (v)  Biomedical Spectroscopy & Imaging (IOS Press). Dr. Jagannathan is currently the President of Indian Chapter of ISMRM; Vice-President of Molecular Imaging Society of India; and member of Chapters Committees of ISMRM; member of Quantitative Imaging Network of NCI, NIH. He was the past President of Asian Biophysics Association (ABA) and Indian Biophysical Society (IBS). 

Ichio Shimada – University of Tokyo (Structural Biology)

Shrishti Dar – Tata Institute for Fundamental Research (Super resolution imaging)


Sihyun Ham - Sookmyung Women’s University

Hye Ran Koh - Chung-ang University, Korea – Chemical Kinetics