24-25 November 2016
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone

Plenary Speakers

Anita Hill

Dr Anita Hill, Executive Director: Future Industries, is responsible for overseeing the strategic direction and investment across Manufacturing, Health & Biosecurity, and CSIRO Services which includes Education and Outreach, Publishing, Futures, SME Engagement, and Infrastructure Testing. Dr Hill is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and is past Chair of the Victorian Division. Dr Hill is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has served on a number of boards and advisory committees including National Centre of Excellence in Desalination, Victorian Centre for Sustainable Chemical Manufacturing, The Wark (University of South Australia), Institute for Frontier Materials (Deakin), Membrane Society of Australasia  (Founding Board Member), International Advisory Board of the ARC COE Electromaterials Science, University of Queensland AIBN Scientific Advisory Committee, Australian-American Fulbright Selection Committee, and Australian Synchrotron Scientific Advisory Committee.  Dr Hill earned her PhD, MSc, and BSE degrees in Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering at Duke University.


Professor Bostjan Kobe is Professor of Structural Biology and NHMRC Principal Research Fellow at the School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, University of Queensland. He received his BSc in chemistry at the University of Ljubljana, Slovenia, and his PhD at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, USA. His laboratory focuses on applying structural biology approaches to understanding infection and immunity. He received the 2001 Minister's Prize for Achievement in Life Sciences, an ARC Federation Fellowship in 2005 and the 2009 ASBMB Roche Medal. He was the President of the SCANZ and a member of the ARC College of Experts. He has >210 publications and >12000 citations. 


Dr Eva Pereiro is responsible for the Transmission Soft X-ray Microscope beamline MISTRAL at the ALBA Light Source (Barcelona, Spain).  She obtained her university degree in Physics at the Universidad Autonoma in Madrid (Spain), and her PhD from the Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble (France) at ID19 X-ray Imaging beamline at the ESRF.  The beamline focuses on cryo-tomography of cells and spectroscopic imaging.



Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now